top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn

Weekly Recap: Work events, my new enjoyable fitness goal and chicken pot pie date night

Updated: Nov 16, 2018

One of my favorite bloggers does weekly recap posts and personally I think it's a great way to recap the week's events without posting every single day. Not only is posting daily updates on top of other content a time commitment that I'd probably drop the ball on very quickly, I'd think it's a little bit of an overload to the reader too. So here we are: my first weekly recap! I'm hoping to post these on Wednesdays but it was a bit of a hectic week so this week's is a little delayed.



I had a couple of work events this week and they were super fun. Now that I'm in Boston I feel there are so many events to go to for work which is a different experience from when I worked in Springfield. On Wednesday I attended Pandora Radio's Halloween party. My coworker from my last role invited me to attend with her and it was a lot of fun and definitely gave me visibility into what a vendor party looks like. In my current role we don't work as closely with vendors like Pandora as the media buying is funneled through an agency so it was just cool to mingle with people from Pandora and hear about their strategy and target markets (even though of course they're always looking to sell you stuff).


Thursday night I attended my first Hatch awards! It's an awards show (but pretty much huge party) for the Boston advertising industry. It was so much fun and it was great to spend time with my new teammates. I never would have realized how small the Boston advertising world is and how many people know each other. Our company's work also won quite a few awards so it was awesome to see the work on the big screen and go and accept the awards. I've only been in advertising since August, but it's always the area of marketing that interested me most and where I wanted to be so attending Hatch was so great and I'm hoping to really kill it in this role and continue to build my career in the ad world.




Since I've move to Boston, I've totally dropped the ball on fitness. Right before moving I was probably the smallest I've been in my adult life, although I'm not sure it was the healthiest. My weight fluctuated between 110-115 pounds which is totally considered healthy for my 5'3" figure. I was running a lot and doing a ton of hot yoga which is my favorite. However, a lot of my friends commented on me being super tiny which I'm not sure is a good thing.


With the move and transitioning to a new job as well as a totally different lifestyle in Boston, fitness got put on the back burner. Boston is SO much fun; but I feel like eating out and drinking is a huge part of the lifestyle. Neither were big aspects of my life before moving. Sure, CJ and I would go out but not all the time and we also would go out to bars here and there but definitely not weekly. In Boston, it's the lifestyle. It's a lot of fun and there are SO many places to try out but it's a lot of unhealthier habits that I've added to my life in the past 3 months that I haven't been balancing with added healthy habits to compensate.


I'm really not happy about the unhealthier habits, or at least not fighting them with healthy habits. I know it's also that time of year where we all kind of pack on some pounds and feel a bit gross but I'm not feeling good about it at all. I'm going to cut myself some slack, first CJ and I originally moved to a temporary apartment that didn't have a gym but now in our new home there's a gym right underneath us as well as one across the street. I really don't have an excuse to not work out. I've tried the BBG program multiple times and I struggle sticking with it but I LOVE hot yoga and I want to get back into running. Rather than focusing on a program while I try to get back into being healthy, I'm focusing on doing fitness I enjoy and doing it often.


I'm trying to squeeze it in however I can daily whether it's just a high incline walk during my lunch hour at work or running at 6am before I head to work; I'm taking on a new journey where I'm going to get in the habit of doing fitness activities I enjoy doing to try and get myself back on track before forcing myself to do a program that I'm going to dread at first and not stick with.



Finally, a fun, cheap, at home date night idea that CJ and I did last night that I wanted to share: cooking chicken pot pies. While making chicken pot pies seems pretty mundane, we went to the store and got two mini pie dishes and each made our own. It honestly was SO much fun and they came out delicious. I'm going to create a separate post with more detail but totally recommend. It was way easier than expected and it kind of turned into a mini competition of whose looked better (for some reason mine looked more like a dumpling than a pie so I lost that battle).


Also - has anyone been watching the new Netflix series Haunting of Hill House? Just finished it this morning. I definitely was looking to be scared and didn't find it very scary but such a well done show. I'm still in awe.


Happy Saturday!

5 views0 comments
bottom of page