top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn

Me Day & Mask Monday!


Happy Monday! I pre-planned to take today off from work which has been much needed. While I'm totally stressing about all of the things I have to do and all of the emails I'm going to have to catch up on tomorrow. I'm enjoying taking a day for myself and being lazy today. Even though I want a "lazy" day," I am going to head out for a run/walk in a little while. It's cloudy and a little chilly out but I want to get as much outside time in that I can before winter comes because it'll be here before we know it. My current apartment is on a marina less than a mile from the beach which makes for gorgeous running scenery, especially since all of the water includes views of the Boston skyline. I have not utilized it as much as I should be, but it's never too late to start!


Yesterday, I went on a four mile walk by the beach and it was super relaxing and beautiful. Today, I have on the docket to run 1 mile and walk 2. I'm slowly trying to get back into the habit of working out again but by doing fitness activities that I enjoy to regain the habit. I have found that by trying to get back into it jumping directly into like a BBG program, I just hate it and dread going to the gym, so I don't.





What else is on the docket for my "me day"? Hopefully finishing Girl, Wash Your Face by Rachel Hollis. I started the book two days ago and it is everything it's hyped up to be and more. I will definitely plan to write a post on it once I finish, but I'm really enjoying Rachel's narrative, approach, and looking forward to applying some of these lessons to my every day life.


Also, there is NOTHING like a good face mask. I must say I need to prioritize doing masks more, especially as I just bought a kit of all the Peter Roth Thomas masks to try and find a favorite but also just with the change in seasons, the dry air does a number on my skin. I'm thinking I may try to do a mask every Monday (the point of this post) and then share my experience and thoughts on the different face masks. I'm not getting paid for any of these reviews and I don't receive any products for free (yet... feel free to send them my way!) unless they're free samples at Sephora so I promise you that my posts on products I'm trying will be as real and authentic as they can get.


My first mask Monday, today, I'm going to share my experience with the HOLY GRAIL of face masks: Summer Fridays: The Overtime Mask & The Jet Lag Mask. And yes they're so good that I've listed two. I found Marianna Hewitt on Instagram a couple years back and was instantly obsessed with her style, her posts, her hair, everything. Next thing I knew she was hanging out with the Kardashians and jet setting over the world so of course, I only followed her more closely. While I often read her beauty posts I was a bit hesitant when she came out with a face mask. Sure I LOVED Marianna Hewitt but what did she know about skin care? Most influencers and celebrities launch makeup products or perfumes, but skincare? A couple months went by and I saw people raving about her Jet Lag Mask. I gave it a few more months and the reviews were still all positive even calling the mask life changing. I literally picked up the mask every time I went to Sephora but then the day came when I finally decided to pull the trigger and buy this Jet Lag mask. I am NEVER turning back.



The Overtime Mask

Just a couple months ago, Summer Friday's launched the Overtime Mask. It's positioned to be for us workaholics out there whose skin has been putting in WORK and is in need of some TLC. It's an exfoliator and smells amazing. It even has pumpkin enzymes in it (yum)! The mask is a bit rough being an exfoliator but I promise you your skin will look RADIANT afterwards. I have very sensitive skin and I haven't had any averse reactions to this mask. My skin literally glows after I use this mask and of course I feel like a million bucks as the mask rips away all of my dead skin cells and cleans out my pores. The mask sells for $44 which compared to this amount of product from other beauty companies is relatively reasonable and can be purchased online at SummerFridays.com or Sephora. They recommend using it once a week which I'm working on doing consistently. If you haven't noticed a trend, I have a hard time sticking with things :).


The Jet Lag Mask

The mask that turned me back onto face masks. THIS mask is EVERYTHING. A little bit more expensive than its sister ($48 at SummerFridays.com and Sephora), this mask is worth every penny. While I love the Overtime Mask, this mask has everything you need to hydrate your skin (and then some). I usually use it as directed as a mask that I then rub in (because it's also a moisturizer too) but I've read about girls using it as an overnight mask and a moisturizer and I've never once seen someone have a negative thing to say about this product. It's relatively thick to apply but that's just because of all the good stuff that's in it to moisturize your skin. Honestly, after using this my skin feels healthy. No matter what I did to my skin that week, no matter how much makeup I applied, or if I (gasp) went to bed without washing my face (a vice I never had before I moved to Boston), this skin instantly revamps my skin and brings it back to where it needs to be. The best part? NO NEED TO RINSE! Because this mask doubles as a moisturizer, after the ten minutes are up you just rub it in or blot it with a warm face cloth.



Even the cat wants in on these face masks

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page