top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn

My January Challenges

Happy New Year! I cannot believe it is 2019 - crazy! I hope everyone had a fun NYE. CJ and I went to a Gatsby party at Harvard Gardens in Boston. It was definitely more low key than I expected but it was fun! Today was also pretty low key as CJ had to work. I took Malcolm for a long walk in the park near our house with a family friend and watched as he played with other dogs and went to BJ's to pick up some things. I was feeling really sick this morning (not related to NYE) so I was a bit unmotivated to do anything today. The laundry is everywhere... the house is a mess... and I have to go back to work tomorrow :)


So January 1... I'm sure the gyms are packed today! While everyone always has new year's resolutions, I've decided to do something different as I (kinda like everyone else) always fail to accomplish the resolutions I make. My plan is to do shorter personal challenges starting with two monthly challenges in January.


30 - Day No Sugar Challenge

I came across a BuzzFeed article the other day regarding a 30 day sugar detox. I am a huge dessert person so this is going to be tough but I thought I'd give it a try coming out of all the desserts I've had over the past few weeks from Thanksgiving - New Year's. For me it's less about actually staying away from all sugar for 30 days (although I'm going to try my best), but it's more about being aware of where sugar is in the foods I consume, how much, and what healthier alternatives are.


Some Rules:

-I can eat natural sugars that are naturally in fruit and dairy (although I do not eat much dairy)

-No artificial sweeteners

-No more than 5 servings of fruit a day



My Personal Goals for this Challenge:

- Be more aware of sugar

-Focus more on real ingredients

-Drop some post-holiday lbs

-Have more energy

-Stop having so many cravings for sweets


No Spend Challenge

I spend too much money. I'd like to tell myself I spend it on meaningful things but that's not always the case. I also went a little overboard this Christmas with not only gifts for everyone but also the amazing sales and how I could leverage as well. Because of this, I'm embarking on a 30 day no spend challenge! I'm going to try to not spend any money on the things I always find myself purchasing for fun.


Some Rules:

-Can buy groceries and necessities (paper towels, cleaning supplies, toilet paper, etc.)

-Can buy pet supplies

-Bills

-Pre-planned nights out


Ideas to recommit if I feel myself slipping:

-Turn on a podcast and go for a walk with Malcolm

-Read

-Journal

-Blog

-Walk on the treadmill

-Do a random P.Volve workout


My Personal Goals for this Challenge:

-To be more aware of my spending habits and to gain willpower over wanting to shop

-To save money

-To pay down post-Christmas debt



Have you guys every done a no sugar or no spend challenge?

Do you have any personal challenges going into the New Year?

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page